Regrowing Bunching Onions From Scraps

I’ve heard of this a long time ago, about certain things you can regrow from scraps, but have never tried it until now. I wish I had done so a while back, it’s so easy and you get your money’s worth (or garden’s worth)! This experiment was done with some bunching onions we had bought from the store.

We eat a lot of them so it would only make sense to try this little trick out. I procrastinated it, but now that we’ve transitioned into a slower season I figured it’s time to give it a try. It’s as simple as keeping about an inch or so of the root end (white part), popping it into some good soil and watering it.

Anytime we’re using bunching onions I’ll collect them off to the side, usually in a tiny jar of water so they don’t dry out, and pop them in some soil the next day or so. I was amazed when I saw how fast the new growth began peeking through.

As for harvesting, we can snip them at the base when they’re ready, for a cut and come again method. So excited to have fresh bunching onions in the garden this season! Produce is always a bummer at our grocery store, and that’s an understatement, so at least we can pick the regrowth fresh.

I have started some from seed recently, they just take a while and I’m unfortunately an impatient person 😅 So this will be satisfactory until they’re ready. I’m looking forward to trying two new varieties though: Red Bearded and Ishikura Winter Long.

🧅 Have you regrown any kitchen scraps before? 🥬

6 thoughts on “Regrowing Bunching Onions From Scraps

    1. That’s awesome you’ve grown garlic from cloves at the store. I say it’s a lot cheaper too, honestly! Seed garlic can be so expensive, although it is nice having a selection. I tried it a couple years ago but didn’t mulch enough for winter. Thinking about trying it again though, and oh yes I agree with the spellchecker having a mind of its own 😆

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment